Poised

DSC_0510word
One of my favorite places to photograph is Pinson Mounds Archeological State Park near Jackson, Tennessee. The park offers many miles of biking and hiking trails. There are also several varieties of wildlife. The most common animal I come across are whitetail deer. Often I am unable to get very close to the deer, especially in the fall during hunting season. However, sometimes I get lucky. Persistence and luck are often the biggest assets to being a photographer.

I came across this young whitetail deer buck one morning as I was heading out for a short hike before class. I never made it to the trail, but I was lucky to get to spend some intimate time with this deer. He was standing in one of the meadows and was not bothered by my presence when I came up. He spent about an hour grazing as I sat on the ground snapping pictures a few yards away. This is what makes wildlife photography so special to me.

Leave a Reply

