Mysterious Wonder

Mysterious Wonderword

Over spring break in March of 2013 I was fortunate to spend a couple of days at the Grand Canyon.  It was a thrill to experience the fantastic sunrises and sunsets the landscape offers.  This photograph was taken on my first evening in the Grand Canyon.  I was traveling with some of my family and we arrived about an hour or so before sunset.  I was hoping to scout out a good place to photograph the sunrise the next morning while I took some shots.

We made our way along a paved pathway and past the visitors center on the on the south rim of the canyon.  I would stop occasionally when I found a potential shot.  As the fog started to fall over the canyon and the sun began to set shadows bounced around all over the canyon.  Even though it was not the height of the season there were still several people there.  I knew I was not going to really find an empty or unexplored spot, but there are always possibilities if you look and work at it.

The snow in the late winter added a new dimension to the canyon that many people are not familiar with.  I found this spot as I was moving around.  I liked how the trees could frame the canyon and add a sense of depth and size to the place.  I took several shots from different angles.  Finally, I knelt down in the snow and took some shots from almost ground level.  Luckily for me in this shot the light hit the canyon perfectly reflecting off of the canyon walls and the clouds.  For the first night this was a wonderful experience and a perfect example of trying different angles and getting new perspectives.

Enjoy and Thank you,

Pamela Peters

3 comments on “Mysterious Wonder

  1. A fabulous place in gorgeous light.

Leave a Reply

