Changing of the Weather: Warming by the Geyser

Warming by the Geyser

As the weather starts to change and winter starts to make an appearance I am reminded of a special moment I experienced at Yellowstone National Park.  I was checking out the thermal features in Black Sand Basin between periods of snow.  I was struggling to capture the color of the thermal pools because of the steam rising up from them as the heat mixed with the cold.  I had decided to put my camera down in order to just enjoy some of the special places nature has to offer.

I was just beginning to get really serious about wildlife photography and really learning my craft, not to say that I am still not learning my craft.  As a broadcaster I look at the world as though I am looking through a camera lens and I was learning to adjust from moving pictures to stills.  I was trying to figure out how I could capture the beauty of the fog on a gray day, then a small bluebird flew in adding a bit of color to the scene.

I watched as the bird landed on a dead tree stump that was sitting above a small geyser.  The bird seemed to be trying to warm itself as the snow started to fall again.  It sat on the stump just behind the mist created by the mixing of the cold and warm air.  The bird sat there for several minutes as I took several shot hoping the fog would clear enough to see the bird.  At some point the mist cleared in front of the bird framing it perfectly revealing a bright blue figure in the midst of all the gray.  It serves as a reminder that beauty can be anywhere, so as a photographer I always have to be prepared.

Leave a Reply

