Desolation

Desolation word

On a warm winter day I went for a drive with my father.  We had driven out into the country so that I could photograph the grave of a Civil War veteran from the area for the local museum.  On our way back I took a long detour to see what I could capture.  I drive the country roads around my home town of Richmond, KS pretty regularly in the summer when I am there, but winter brings a different perspective that I rarely get to see.

As the sun began to set the light became perfect for photographing the landscape.  I got out of the car and walked along this country road snapping pictures and taking advantage of the light.  This tree has always been a fascination for me.  As long as I can remember it has sat along the side of the road all alone, like many trees in Kansas.  As the light fell I got down on one knee in the middle of the road and took this shot.  I love the feeling of the emptiness of the prairie that it gives me.  It is a reminder of home, but also that there is a road leading there.  I love the peace and tranquility of the light as the sun sets.  I hope you enjoy it and please share what it says to you.

2 comments on “Desolation

  1. A beautiful image indeed. The tree really makes it special. 🙂

Leave a Reply

